Recipe: Hawaiian Zucchini Pasta

Zucchini pasta! Otherwise known as spiralized zucchini. This is one of my favorite low calorie tricks, but I always tend to forget about it after a while. I rediscovered it today, when I was confronted with the random ingredients in my fridge that I wanted to try to use. I’ve made zucchini pasta with just the zucchini and pasta sauce before, but the whole point today was to use more ingredients in my fridge, so this version is more interesting.

Yes, “Hawaiian style” has made an appearance again (love fresh pineapple), although it is a little different this time. You can really use any toppings, or none, that you want. Meatballs. Chicken with light alfredo sauce. Pesto. So many options! Or, you can keep it vegetarian or even vegan if you want. The great thing about zucchini pasta is you can use toppings like salami and cheese without feeling guilty since the overall dish is still healthy and light.

zucchinipasta

Hawaiian Zucchini Pasta

Ingredients:
1 small zucchini, cut into ribbons with a spiralizer
2 tbsp diced onion
1/4 cup diced bell pepper
1/3 cup diced pineapple
2 slices salami, diced (or ham)
1 ounce mozzarella or provolone cheese
1/2 cup pasta sauce
parmesan

Directions:

  • If using any ingredients that need cooked like onions or peppers, add them to a skillet and saute until softened. Add the pineapple and salami at the last minute and heat up.
  • Put the spiralized zucchini in a bowl and top with pasta sauce, your cooked toppings, and cheese. Heat up in the microwave about 1 minute. Don’t overdo it or the zucchini will cook too much, lose volume, and you’ll end up with watery sauce.
  • Sprinkle with parmesan and enjoy!

zucpasta.

In case you have no idea what a spiral vegetable slicer is, this is the one I use. I wish I would have discovered this back when I did Atkins, because it would make low carb meals so much more versatile! You really don’t miss the actual pasta, I promise!

One thought on “Recipe: Hawaiian Zucchini Pasta

Leave a Reply

