Recipe: Lentil Mango Picadillo

lentilpicadillo

This recipe really doesn’t seem close to traditional Picadillo, not only because there’s no meat and there’s mango in it, but because every Picadillo recipe I’ve seen has olives. However, I hate olives and have never had traditional Picadillo, so I am glad I saw this version. I can’t think of another name for it, so I’m sticking with the same recipe title from the recipe I slightly adapted.

I really liked this recipe for a change. We have one standard lentil dish we cook all the time, and I was ready for a change. I love adding mango to savory dishes, so this was a great choice for me. I do think it could have used a bit more flavor. The flavor was there, but it seemed to get a little lost. Or maybe I am just used to well spiced dishes thanks to my husband. I would recommend upping all the seasonings listed below by 25-50% and possibly using a hotter salsa.

lentilpicadillo2

Lentil Mango Picadillo

adapted from Eats Well with Others, originally adapted from Simply Recipes

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups lentils
1 onion, diced
1 bell pepper, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp dried thyme
1 cup mild Pace Picante sauce (or other salsa)
1-2 mangoes, peeled pitted and cubed
Blue Diamond Jalapeno Smokehouse almonds, chopped, for topping (or other almonds)
chopped fresh cilantro leaves, for topping

Directions:
1. Place lentils in a large pan and fill pot with walter. Add some salt, and bring to a boil.  Cook for 15-25 minutes, covered. (I cooked it longer because we like very soft lentils.) When lentils are tender, drain off the excess water.

2. Heat a large non-stick skillet on medium heat and spray with Pam. Cook onions about 5 minutes, then add the bell pepper and continue cooking another 10 minutes. Stir in the garlic, cumin, coriander, cinnamon, cumin, oregano, thyme, mango, and salsa. Cook 2 minutes. Add the cooked lentils and stir to combine, keeping on the heat for another few minutes.

3. Serve topped with chopped almonds and cilantro.

I served this with pita wedges and hummus on the side.

Leave a Reply

