Recipe: Hawaiian Pizza Pocket

We recently made pita bread pizzas, and I made a Hawaiian one. With the leftovers, I decided to make a sandwich of sorts with the same theme. I know, that’s not a unique idea, but I thought I would share anyway, because this was a really good lunch. I served it with a yummy ripe nectarine (excited they are so good this time of year!) on the side.

hawaiianpocket

Hawaiian Pizza Pocket

Ingredients:
1/2 a pita bread or flat bread (or other bread/bun/wrap)
2 ounces (about 5 slices) deli honey ham
1 slice of mozzarella cheese
6 fresh spinach leaves
1 ring grilled fresh pineapple (canned would work too)
5 sun-dried tomato strips
2-3 tbsp spaghetti or pizza sauce (I used Bertolli Fire Roasted Tomato With Cabernet Sauvignon)

Directions:
Place all the ingredients in a pita pocket or on 2 slices of bread. Or, save the spaghetti sauce for dipping sauce if you want to pretend it’s a calzone. Heat in the toaster oven, panini press, foreman grill, and/or microwave until the cheese is melted and everything is heated through. I microwaved first, then used the toaster oven to crisp up the bread. Super easy!

Bread Note: I used 1/2 an Arnold’s Pocket Thin, but I am not a fan of these. I only bought them because I was buying Sandwich Thins on a bogo sale, and there was a high coupon specifically for the Pocket Thins, so I thought I’d try out one pack. To me, these are a waste because you could get real pita bread for much cheaper AND less calories AND better flavor. Seriously. You can get pita bread in a 6 pack for around $1.39 at Publix and each pita is 150 calories. The Pocket Thins are like $3.79 (!!!) for only 4 of them at 200 calories each, and they are thinner than the pita bread. I didn’t even think they tasted good because I’m not a fan of wheat bread. I will definitely stick to Arnold’s regular white Sandwich Thins, which I love, or just regular pita bread for this pizza pocket.

One thought on “Recipe: Hawaiian Pizza Pocket

Leave a Reply

