Recipe: Golden Curried Vegetables

curry2
This week I wasn’t as happy with the new recipes I tried, but they do have potential. I am posting this recipe with the adjustments that I would make in the future, not exactly how I made it this time. I did not have curry paste which was originally called for, so I modified with curry powder and other spices, and my end result was a bit too spicy in my opinion. So I’ve listed what I will do the next time, and I think this version will be a bit better. Although, if I ever have some curry paste on hand, maybe I will try it the way it is supposed to be made.

Note that I am really not a big fan of curry powder, but I am coming around. This dish was so healthy, I am willing to work with it and I know it will grow on me.
curry

Golden Curried Vegetables

adapted from Eats Well with Others and Vegetarian Times

Ingredients:
1.5 lbs potatoes (mix of sweet potatoes and russet), peeled and diced
3 medium carrots, peeled and diced
12 ounce frozen chopped green beans
1/2 cup chopped cauliflower
1 tsp coconut oil
1 large white onion, diced
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 small squash, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 can lite coconut milk
1.5 tbsp sweet yellow curry powder
1 tsp crushed coriander
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
dash cayenne pepper
1 tsp lemongrass paste
2 tbsp PB2
2 tbsp honey
1/2 tsp dried basil (or use all fresh basil)
1 tbsp fresh basil (or use all dried basil)

Directions:

  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.  Cook the potatoes for 7 minutes.  Add the carrots, green beans, and cauliflower and cook 10 more minutes. Drain and set aside.
  2. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add onion and bell pepper and cook about 5 minutes until softening.  Add garlic and squash and cook another 5 minutes. Stir in drained cooked vegetables, coconut milk, and all seasonings (everything should be in the skillet at this point). Bring mixture to a simmer and cook, stirring a few times, for about 5 more minutes until sauce is thickening some.
Leave a Reply

