Routine Meals vs Trying New Things

I like to harass my husband about the fact that he ate the exact same lunch almost every weekday for years. He had a Cuban sandwich with a small granny smith apple. At least 4 days a week, every single week! He has a little more variation now, but still does the Cuban/apple lunch most weeks, unless there is a holiday or company lunch that messes up the schedule. It seems so bizarre to me that he wouldn’t at least change the type of sandwich sometimes.

I guess I am a little jealous that he is happy with that same simple lunch day after day. I think it would be a lot easier to follow a “diet”, if I were content with routine to that extent. But I get so bored! I really don’t like eating the same thing all the time. The only food I have a tendency to do that with is Mexican. Unfortunately, tacos and burritos are not very waist-line friendly. The only thing that keeps my Mexican cravings under control is the awesome taco salads I make that are low calorie and still very tasty. Taco sauce is such a great dressing for 10 calories.

lemonplumI do think getting into a routine for healthy living is the best thing for me. I make a plan for the week before grocery shopping every Sunday and am pretty good at following it. But my plan for each day is as different as I can make it without wasting food. Since I work from home, and I usually enjoy cooking, I can make whatever I want for any meal, and I try to prepare it myself with mostly fresh ingredients. I do still have easy things like lean cuisines, cereal, and canned soup sometimes too, especially when I am not in the mood to cook.

I am always on the hunt for new recipes, and even more so when I’m focused on healthy eating. I like vegetables, but they aren’t usually that exciting. A few years ago, we made it a goal to pick out new vegetables and fruits from the store that we weren’t that familiar with, and we still do it whenever we find a new one. My favorite was the lemon plum I discovered last year, and it should be coming around again soon since it’s only available in February.

Do you find yourself eating the same few things over and over or do you like being adventurous with your meals?

I think we’ve already tried all the produce that’s typically sold at the stores and markets we go to, so I have to come up with new ways to eat the veggies instead. But I am still amazed at how much more variety I eat now than I did 10 years ago.

dragon

Here’s a list of some of the produce we’ve tried that I never really ate before age 21:

  • turnips
  • rutabaga
  • parsnips
  • fennel bulb/fronds (just tried last night!)
  • squashes (summer squash, zucchini, round zucchini, butternut squash, acorn squash, delicata squash, kabocha squash, pattypan squash)
  • eggplant (every variety I’ve seen)
  • greens (beet greens, kale, swiss chard, turnip greens, kohlrabi greens)
  • jicama
  • bok choy
  • fresh spinach
  • broccoli rabe
  • napa cabbage
  • chayote
  • tomatillo
  • artichoke
  • chickpeas
  • lentils
  • okra
  • snap peas and snow peas
  • white asparagus
  • kohlrabi
  • leeks
  • lotus root
  • shallot
  • beets
  • radishes
  • lemon plum
  • dragon fruit
  • passion fruit
  • pomegranate
  • papaya
  • mango (several varieties)
  • canary melon
  • horned melon
  • cactus fruit
  • guava
  • kumquat
  • rambutan
  • lychee
  • blood orange

I’m sure there’s more I’m not thinking of, including a few that I never knew the name for. How many of these have you tried? Some of this list must seem completely normal to most people, but I didn’t think so at first. Any new suggestions for me that I might not have tried?

2 thoughts on “Routine Meals vs Trying New Things

  1. I have tried a few of them (Thanks to Craig) Everytime we go somewhere he is always like “Here try this” and I usually end up loving whatever he gives me!

Leave a Reply

