Launching into a new blog and a new competition

fireworksWelcome! If you are wondering about me or why this blog was started, you might want to start with the About Me page.

I decided to launch this new blog on the first day of the weight loss challenge I am participating in.  I will get into explaining that soon.  At the moment, I have to start by saying that I am really disappointed with WordPress.com’s options. I am a web designer and have worked on actual WordPress websites before, but I’ve never started a free WordPress blog before. I didn’t realize they won’t let you do full customization without a yearly fee. That pretty much sucks, because I had big plans for the design of this blog.  I’m not ready to pay for it at this point, though. So, you will just get to enjoy the logo I designed and imagine that the site would have looked awesome! Eventually, if this takes off, I will go ahead and get my own domain and finish my real design.

So, now that my rant is over… today is the first day of the “Biggest Loser Competition” that my friend started on facebook.  Each person paid $10 to enter and the money goes to different prize amounts for the top 3 winners. We weigh in every week and our weight loss percentage is calculated and ranked.  The competition ends on March 1st.

I did this competition last year (I think I came in 5th), and it really helped me to eat right and exercise.  I knew I probably wouldn’t win, but just having the accountability of knowing my weight loss percentage would be announced online was enough to make me think twice about that snack I wanted or motivate me to finish a workout I did not feel like doing.

This year, I am hoping the competition will jump start me, but my real goal is to not have an “end” to healthy living. I plan to lose at least 20 lbs by the March competition date, and hopefully 25 by mid March when I’m leaving for vacation, but I should lose 40-50 in total. I have done it before and I think I will do it again this year.  Then the real challenge is learning to really maintain long term. I really don’t know why it has always been such a struggle for me.  One day at a time is all I can do, and maybe someday the cycle will be broken.

2 thoughts on “Launching into a new blog and a new competition

Leave a Reply

